Skip to content

Handmade Holiday

November 6, 2010

This year, I’m jumping on the Handmade Holiday bandwagon.

Lizzy House has pledged to not buy any gifts this year but to make, revamp, trade and recycle for all gifts.  I can’t be that ambitious {I doubt my 5-year-old son would like a Razor made out of toilet paper roll tubes!}, but I can give some lovingly made lovelies.

I’ve already started some projects and have hit some of my favorite books and websites for others.

Here’s a sneak peek at some of my WIPs {see, I’d already started before reading Lizzy’s post!}:

The boys’ teachers will be getting adorable sleeping masks, inspired by Amy Butler’s In Stitches.

I’ve already begun the first mask – and am making it a little more {This Mama} special by embroidering shhh … across the front.  And, I’m going to put some lavender inside to ensure relaxation.

This adorable snowman will become the center of a pillow I’m working on for my mother-in-law.  We share a love of snowmen!  But, I’m nervous about giving her anything I’ve made since she’s the maven of the handmade arts {and my biggest cheerleader, encourager and enabler!}.  BTW: He’s from the book Redwork Winter Twitterings by Pearl Louise Krush.  {I think he’s way cuter in Technicolor!}

This crazy circle will become the top of a tortilla cozy.  I’m not sure who will receive this one or if I’ll keep it for myself.  The embroidery designs are from two of {the unbelievably fabulous} Jenny Hart’s books.

And, of course, there will be plenty of appliqued gifts this year.  These are so easy to knock out and are really fun to design!

What are you making this year?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

