Skip to content

Valentine Girl: Lainey’s Birthday Presents

February 14, 2010

Our cute friend Lainey is turning 5 tomorrow.  I couldn’t decide what to give her for the special day except something art related.  So, I decided to whip up a special present just for her.

This was the first time I used rick rack.  I think I did a pretty decent job. 

I must admit, though, that I was paranoid it would somehow shift and become crooked and I wouldn’t realize it until I had applied the binding!

Check out the detail shot here:

(Best of all, I got the rick rack for something like 29 cents!  I’ll try just about anything new for that kind of steal!

I’ve decided that I don’t like gift bags.  Target cons us into spending $1.29 for a plain bag then wants us to buy the fancy curly ribbon stuff that matches.  And, there’s the tissue paper.   But what do we do with it all?  Throw away the paper, maybe keep the bag to use for another gift ….  It all seems like a waste to me.

So, I whipped up a little drawstring bag to put the apron in.  Lainey can reuse it for whatever after the party.

The instructions from the bag came from Ashley over at Make it and Love It.  She has some fabulous how-to’s with step-by-step photos.  I first made this bag over the summer for the boys to take on our vacation.  They’re the perfect size for smaller kiddos.

I added an applique L (for Lainey) that I cut using my Cricut.  I used double-sided fusible adhesive to hold the applique in place then did a blanket stitch around the edges.  Add a little sparkle – and it’s a bag any girlie girl would love!

Apron fabric details (main and trim): Hopscotch for Red Rooster Fabrics

The bag is made from denim I had on hand and a scrap from a previous project.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

