Skip to content

Sublime Stitches: Rose Napkin

February 14, 2010

This week, I splurged and bought myself Jenny Hart’s “Sublime Stitching: Hundreds of Hip Embroidery Patterns and How-To.”

I’ve dabbled in hand embroidery in the past without much guidance.  Something always seems to be amiss.  Jenny’s book is the wonderful missing piece in my stitching puzzle.  Her instructions and illustrations made sense of each stitch – and the French Knot.

The best thing about this book?  All the iron-on transfers in the back!  There’s something like 88 pages of transfers – with multiple sizes of great designs!

I picked up a set of plain white napkins at Bed Bath and Beyond the other day and intend to embroider one for each of us.  Mitchell already has his eye on Jenny’s racecar with lightening bolt transfer.

For myself, I started with a simple rose design.  I used DMC variegated floss to subtly change colors.  I’m very pleased with how it came out.  I’ll probably add some binding to the napkin before I decide it’s complete.  (I didn’t have any of the right shade of pink in my stash.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

