Skip to content

Update: Perfect Pair with Pears

December 22, 2009

I finally found the perfect fabric to accompany the Pears for a hostess apron. 

Perfect Pears Apron (pardon the wrinkles!)

Of course, I headed to Las Colchas and saw it as soon as I walked in. 

I decided to use “Traffic Jam Confetti” from Allison Jane Smith for Windham Fabrics.  It’s part of a collection for boys that’s totally adorable, and it was the perfect match for my pears!

And, of course, I had to pick a coordinating thread.  Some people think white thread makes things look too homemade, but sometimes I like the look of the white stitches. 

For this project, though, I knew I wanted something that matched closer to my body fabric.  I used Gutermann cotton thread in variegated oranges and yellows.  It’s beautiful how the stitches just disappear into the fabric. 

One thing I learned, though, about cotton thread: It’s a pain to make a ruffle!  It’s much more delicate than the poly threads that I usually use!  I probably broke the thread 10 times before giving up and grabbing a spool of Coats white to make the ruffle for the bottom!

I’ve now made two aprons using this color combination.  The one pictured will probably stay here at my house since I accidentally set it on top of an open marker on my craft table.  (You can’t see it – I cleverly hid it with the knot in the photo!)  It was easier to whip up another one for an order than to stress over stain removal!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 5:10 pm

    Your blog is so cute! I hope you’ll be able to come to the next Crafty Girls Workshop meeting in January. Nice to “meet” you.

    Anna

Leave a Reply

