Skip to content

Perfect Pair with Pears

August 26, 2009

I just ordered two yards of Pretty Pears from the Fruit Basket line by Robert Kaufman.  I love the orange colorway.prettypearsorange300  My notebook I carry around is covered in it.

My love of this fabric started when I won a fat quarter pack in oranges from Sew, Mama, Sew! in the spring.  I’ve always liked orange, but this fabric really grabbed me.  The print was going the wrong way for me to make a quick apron, so I held onto it until I found a project to use it.  Covering a notebook in it was a great idea, since I see it all the time now.

So, I’ve been asked to sew a Flirty Skirt Hostess Apron in orange.  The recipient is a huge Texas fan.

I grabbed my notebook and sent the customer a pic of the fabric.  Of course, she loves it!  So, I had to do some searching to find it online.  My go-to sources (Sew, Mama, Sew!, Fat Quarter Shop and Pink Chalk Fabrics) were either out of stock or didn’t even have it listed.

I finally found it at Little Cherubs Heirloom, a site I’ve not heard of before, but their prices were comparable to what I usually pay.

Now, I have the fun task of finding a complimentary fabric to be the ruffle and ties.Soiree-11409-13-450

My notebook has it paired with Gazebo Damask in the Sun colorway from Lila Tueller’s Soiree collection.  I like how the two play together, but it’s too big of a print for the apron trim.

So, I’ll have to hit the streets to find the perfect pair for my pears.  I’m in love with two local stores: Las Colchas and Seventh Heaven Quilt Shop.  Between the two, I know I’ll find just what I need.

 

Fabric images courtesy of Sew, Mama, Sew! and Fat Quarter Shop.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

