Skip to content

Back at the Machine

July 6, 2011

I’ve been away from sewing for a while now.  I’ve been busy with end-of-school mayhem, beginning-of-summer mayhem, painting-the-kitchen mayhem (it’s still not put back together – need to have the backsplash installed), VBS mayhem … you know, LIFE!

Yesterday, I spent the day decluttering, deep cleaning and putting away in the main family room.  I celebrated the accomplishment by sewing today!  Yahoo!

First, I won a great giveaway a while back from Sew 4 Home.  I knew I wanted to make a skirt (don’t you just love a flouncy skirt for summer?), so I picked up a pattern at Las Colchas (natch).  And, it sat.  And sat.  And sat.  (Natch.)  You see, I’ve never sewn a skirt before, so I was terrified to even try.  I’m so afraid of failing that oftentimes I won’t even start.

Today I decided to try something new.  I pulled out the pattern (The Belle Skirt from Favorite Things) and went to town.  It really didn’t take that long – maybe an hour and a half – and I made an adjustment to the waist.  All in all, I love it!

Belle Skirt by Favorite Things * Fabric: Silent Cinema by Jenean Morrison for FreeSpirit by Westminster

(Does this photo make me The Walking Skirted?!)

I also dug into my Designer Mystery Block of the Month from Fat Quarter Shop.

Fat Quarter's Designer Mystery Block of the Month

This is Block 1 of the BOM quilt.  It was designed by Bonnie Olaveson and the adorable Camille Roskelley and uses the Fig Tree Quilt’s Strawberry Fields collection for Moda Fabrics.  How adorable is this block?  It’s perfectly named Sweet Pea!

My purr-fect sewing companion Max was basking in the sunshine under the window while I stitched away.  She moves around the house to find the perfect sliver of sun.

Catnapping

I thoroughly enjoyed sewing today.  In fact, I even turned a blind eye to this in my entryway …

and this at the base of my stairs …

I have about 45 minutes before Pablo gets home – plenty of time to threaten the kids get things picked up and get supper started.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Keitha permalink
    July 6, 2011 11:36 pm

    cute skirt!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

