Skip to content

Bliss(ful!) Dresden Plate

February 23, 2011

I recently finished my first Dresden Plate quilt block and decided to turn it into a pillow.

It’s quite jaunty, I think!

Anyhoo, I used fabrics from Bliss by Bonnie and Camille for Moda.  I absolutely adore this line of fabrics and am using it to make a Sunbonnet Sue quilt as well.  (In fact, I raided my Sue Stash to make this pillow.)

This was my first attempt at a Dresden Plate, and I’m quite pleased with how it came out.  I used the wonderful tutorial prepared by Elizabeth Hartman of Oh, Fransson! penned for Sew, Mama, Sew! The instructions couldn’t have been any better; I was confident from start to finish (after reading through the tute a few times).

I picked up Darlene Zimmerman’s handy dandy Easy Dresden ruler, which made the spokes uber easy.  (And, I cut the 5-inch spokes from Jelly Roll strips.)

A few things I learned making this pillow:

  • You must use 20 spokes to make a plate!  I know, I know – it seems like a given, but I figured I could just make it smaller by using 12.  Rookie mistake.  When I attempted to attach the two sides together … let’s just say I didn’t take a photo of that!
  • You can fool your sewing friends by using an easy way of making a circle then topstitching to the center of the plate.  I was showing off a photo to the wonderful ladies at Las Colchas, and one complimented my sewing on the curve.  I revealed my secret, and now she thinks I’m even more clever!  (I wish everyone could have a shop as great as Las Colchas.)
  • When using the above-mentioned circle trick, don’t cut too close to the stitches when cutting the back of the circle.  I thought I was doing good by cutting it pretty close – and it backfired in a few spots.
  • White probably isn’t the best background color for anything that’s to be used here at Casa de Chaos!  With two boys and a cat, things don’t stay white for long.  This pillow has been living on the little sofa in my bedroom.
  • Photographing your finished projects in natural, indirect light is best.  Nestling your pillow in a rosemary bush makes a lovely photo – and makes the pillow smell quite nice as well.

More photos are available on my Flickr page, if you’re interested.  Also, I’m submitting this pillow for the Great  SMS Pillow Contest and part of the Bloggers Pillow Party. Wish me luck!  (Actually, disregard those links – you don’t want to enter anything into the contests!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 5:21 pm

    Your dresden looks great. It really is easier than it looks, isn’t it?

  2. April 2, 2011 9:00 pm

    Okay, you’ve inspired me to attempt a Dresden! So pretty!

Trackbacks

  1. Feb. 23: Dresden Plate Pillow « Mary Anna: 365

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

