Skip to content

Meet Autumn

January 24, 2011

Meet Autumn!  She’s my most recent embroidery/sewing/pillow project.

Autumn is a featured pattern available in Fat Quarterly Magazine, issue 3.

I’ve even entered this into the FQ contest.  (Like I’d ever win – have you seen the work others do!?!)

For the deets:

  • Background fabric: cut from a canvas drop cloth I picked up at Home Depot.  I like the contrast of the nubby, industrial fabric with the feminine subject and soft details.
  • Flosses: DMC, of course.  My colors were based on Sweetwater’s Sunkissed fabric lines, which I knew I’d use to complete the pillow.  I just wasn’t sure how when I started.
  • Floss details: I used all 6 strands for almost everything.  I used three ply each of two similar shades of dark brown (3031 & 801) to make her hair look a little more realistic.  The black stitching was done with 3 strands.  I like to use variegated flosses as often as possible, as I like the way the colors flow.  But, sometimes, it ends up a little wonky – check out Autumn’s leg warmers (socks?) – the floss went from a soft, buttery yellow to a pretty ballerina pink – on the backside of the stitching!
  • Stitches used: Tons!  Split, chain, French knots, backstitch, stem stitch (my version anyway, on her hair and on the swirl)
  • Ruffle: from Sunkissed by Sweetwater for Moda Fabrics, available from Fat Quarter Shop.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Little Hands Dreams permalink
    January 24, 2011 8:08 pm

    Lovely Pillow! Love the design of the embroidery! Can’t wait to see the next project.

    Emma (Little Hands Dreams)

  2. April 7, 2011 12:17 am

    This is so adorable!!

Trackbacks

  1. Jan. 24: Autumn Pillow « Mary Anna: 365

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

